Autumn’s back again.

IMG_0540

“No spring nor summer beauty hath such grace

as I have seen in one autumnal face.”

[The Autumnal]” ― John Donne

So the winds of Autumn have found their way to us at last.

I suppose I will have to wait a few more weeks before Autumn’s gentle hands greet me, for Summer is reluctant to say “au revoir”. Unfortunately, I do not find Summer’s company as endearing as I could; her impulse to spread heat wherever she goes does not appeal to me, yet I will greet her again next year, because there is no way I could avoid her passing by.

 

Ah, but Autumn, how I welcome you to my doorstep with open arms. We have had many good times together, you always have a memory to leave behind with me. With all the souvenirs you bring, you always have a box of nostalgia for me to open. It is a strange yet bittersweet gift to give a friend, but I am always happy to receive it.

 

I cannot help wondering what sorts of festivities are in store for us. What events will come to pass, what friends will we meet? What sorts of stories will I take with me when I pass through Winter’s gate? Alas, I shall try to keep my patience, though the suspense has kept me waiting for so long.

 

Dearest Autumn, don’t tarry too long, for I cannot wait to see your bright colors and breathe in the scent of your air. Whatever your season brings, I hope it will be beautiful and fair.

 

Until next year, dear Summer, Autumn is now here.

Leave a Reply

