i’m going on an adventure

IMG_9624

 

You are a storyteller and an adventurer.

Most of us have grown accustom to forgetting where we came from and how we got to this point. We forget that we were once children, playful and imaginative. Red lips and rosy cheeks, running around the house without a care in the world, being exactly who we wanted to be at that specific moment.

I often sit down and take a look back, wondering how I got to the point when I had to remind myself to laugh sometimes because life has gotten the best of me. How in the world did that come about? There was a time when laughter and happiness were all I ever cared about, when nothing could take away who I wanted to be, and I believed in myself.

But you see, it doesn’t have to be that way. You are the character of your own story; every day you wake up, you are on the verge of another chapter, another adventure awaits you, or perhaps it’s a continuation of yesterday’s story that left a cliffhanger. In the end, your story is all you have that is yours and yours alone to tell. You don’t owe it to anyone except yourself to make the most of every word, sentence, paragraph and page.

Whatever dreams and aspirations you have, don’t give up on them. Just remember how it was when you were a little kid, dreams were all you had and you believed in them so much that you could almost taste them in reality. It’s still the same. You can be whatever you choose to be if you put your mind to do it. If you want to be a taco, be a taco. (Okay I’m obviously not serious about that, but you get my point, right?)

What else? Smile. I think we all need to learn how to smile more, no matter what situation we’re in. And I don’t mean a fake, I’m-smiling-because-I-have-to smile. A real, smile that lights up your face and shows your passions inside of you. Life is complicated, and at times, yeah, you’ll have to remind yourself to show a bit of brightness to your face; but you know, you’ll find that in doing so, you’ll brighten up the faces of those you come in contact with. You don’t have to kill yourself over what happens to you on a day to day basis—that’s not what you’re here for. Enjoy what time you’ve got, and when life is good, don’t take the seconds for granted. Take time to remember them.

You’re going to make it. I believe in you. Now it’s time to believe in yourself.

Leave a Reply

